Kerry Group Rás Mumhan 2010

Posted: April 7, 2010 · By: Donnacha Clifford · Comments: 0
Under: Irish Cycling, Kerry Cycling, News

Timmy Barry from The Edge Racing Team in Cork was the overall winner of the 2010 Kerry Group Rás Mumhan. Barry, who was out of competitive cycling for the past three years, shocked all of the pundits who had others picked as favourites in this competitive four day stage race which attracted a field of 140 cyclists from Ireland, England, Wales, The Isle of Man, Holland, Turkey and Germany.

Stage 1, a 96km circuit around Farranfore and Glencar, on Good Friday was won by Dutch man Robert Jan Mool. Twenty two year old Mool out-sprinted Kerry man Sean Lacey also from The Edge Racing Team, with Andrew Roche from the Isle of Man in third place. All three were part of a twelve man group that went clear after the first ten kilometres. Their lead went over four minutes at Caragh Lake, just 20km from the finish.

Mool began the 140km second stage wearing the yellow jersey in very windy and wet weather conditions. This stage was won by Wim Bootman from Holland which finished after three very different climbs on top of Molls Gap outside Kenmare. Bootman out-sprinted Ryan Sherlock from Dublin with kerryman Paul Griffin in third. Tim Barry from The Edge team in Cork finished in fourth place and takes the yellow jersey because of his efforts over the past two days, cycling with a very aggressive style that saw him involved in all of the crucial moves with a reward after day two of a lead of three minutes and thirty five seconds from the stage winner Bootman with Sean Lacey in third.

The third stage on Easter Sunday offered cyclists a somewhat better outlook weather-wise with a dry and bright start to the morning for the 140kms that they had to cycle around South Kerry and Valentia, with the race starting and finishing in Waterville. This tough stage was won by Dubliner Neil Delahaye, who rode away from a three man breakaway to record a solo victory. Timmy Barry finished the day comfortably and retained the leader’s jersey into the last day of racing.

The final stage on Easter Monday covered 114 kms over the traditional route that took in Killorglin, Milltown and the Donal McKenna circuit. The stage was won by Dion Beukeboom from the Dutch Midi Centre team. Beukeboom went clear of a leading group of seven riders to win on his own. Next home was his team mate Melvin Boshamp with local man Daniel Clifford from Killorglin finishing third over the line. Barry finished comfortably in the main field which was controlled well by his team mates.

Without having won a stage but thanks to his aggressive riding style and good positioning over the four days Timmy Barry won in emphatic style. Having set up the Edge CC Racing Team in Cork earlier in the year, Barry never considered that he could earn such a victory in such a short time out of retirement. A seemingly shocked Barry concluded after the race that he now would have to reassess his goals for the year and considering his good form, would have to consider “possibly taking part in the FBD Insurance Rás in May”.

1 T. Barry (The Edge), 12.35.55
2 W. Botman, @3.22
3 N. Delahaye (Usher Irish Road Club), @3.52
4 A. Roche, @4.31
5 P. Griffin (Earl of Desmond), @5.17
6 R.Sherlock (MAD), 5.21

Image courtesy of

Tags: , , ,
Kerry Group Rás Mumhan 2010: 0 Comments

Leave a Reply