The Lacey Cup: Results

Posted: March 3, 2010 · By: Donnacha Clifford · Comments: 0
Under: Irish Cycling, Kerry Cycling, News

Sean Lacey of the Edge Racing Team retained the Lacey Cup on Sunday and stamped his authority in the inaugural race of what promises to be an exciting season of road racing. The trophy was won in style with a three man sprint with an impressive winning time of 1 hour and forty six minutes for the 80K course.

There was a big turnout of 140 cyclists for the event in what were perfect conditions, which was welcomed by all cyclists. The event was run on a handicap basis with 4 groups on the road comprising of various categories with the 1st group getting a 4 minute advantage over the 2nd group, 6 minutes from the 3rd group and 7mins from the scratch group. There was a big crowd of people on climb of Gleann na nGealt to see the riders contest the sprint for the Jackie O’ Connor Cup which was won by Hoodle from Kanturk with the Tralee pair Denis Keane 2nd and Peter Magennis of the promoting Earl of Desmond club 3rd.

Behind this group the two groups from behind were merging at the foot of the climb and on the climb there was an attack from this strong group and 4 riders broke clear, Sean Lacey, Paul Griffin, Stephen Barrett and Bryan Keane and opened a gap going over the summit.

This foursome worked well together and had caught the front group as they were going through Annascaul heading for Inch, they continued putting on the pressure and went clear before Inch and it was obvious that the winner was going to come from this quartet.

On the final climb up Sliabh Mish Bryan Keane lost contact and the remaining 3 sprinted for the prime and the Teddy Griffin trophy which Lacey won and with 5 km to go it was very tactical with each rider showing respect for the others ability.

With 500 metres to go Barrett attacked and was caught, with Griffin going at 300 metres. Lacey monitored the attacks and then sprinted clear to retain The Lacey Cup, with Griffin 2nd and Barrett 3rd.

1 S. Lacey (The Edge Racing);
2 P. Griffin (Earl of Desmond);
3 S. Barrett (Planet x);
4 B. Keane (Dublin Wheelers);
5 M. O Reilly (The Edge Racing);
6 D. Clifford (Killorglin Credit Union CC);
7 M. Hennessy (Fermoy CC);
8 M. O’Loughlin (Dan Morrissey Carrick Wheelers);
9 V. Clare (West Clare CC);
10 S. Clancy (Limerick CC);

1st Lady: S. Dervan.

Tags: , ,
The Lacey Cup: Results: 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.